Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Ten Books to Read if You Like The X-Files

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme started over at The Broke and The Bookish. Each week they have a specific topic for a top ten list. Link up, visit some new blogs and add to your ever growing TBR list! This week's topic is:

Ten Books to Read if You Like The X-Files

Ultraviolet Liar The Body Finder Every Other Day Anna Dressed In Blood
Night Beach Undertow White Cat The Vespertine The Book of Blood and Shadow

I changed the topic up a little. It's meant to be "if you like this book or author", but my brain boycotted. I've been watching a lot of The X-Files recently, so I decided to just go with it. Bit of a varied list. The X-Files deals with so much more than aliens, so I've included books with shady governments, shape shifters, secret societies, psychic powers, and so on. Most have a mystery element to them, as The X-Files does. Enjoy!

What titles would you include in this list? Do you like The X-Files? Looking forward to the new miniseries next year? I am!

Oh, and before you go, be sure to enter my Birthday Celebration Giveaway! You could win $30AUD worth of books from The Book Depository!

16 comments:

  1. Hi! I used TV shows as well :) I never got into the X-Files. I should add it to my TBW (to be watched) list which is getting to be as big as my TBR list!
    My TTT
    Leslie

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I feel you! My TBW list is definitely as large as my TBR. I only watched a couple of seasons of The X-Files when it first came out - I was a little young to stick with anything for years. ;-) I'm really enjoying rewatching it...though I still have 8 seasons to go, haha! Thanks, Leslie.

      Delete
  2. I really enjoyed Every Other Day when I read it. The Book of Blood and Shadow sounds interesting...may have to pick it up one day.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really liked Every Other Day too. Wish there was a sequel! The Book of Blood & Shadows has a great premise, but it dragged a little too much for me. And I didn't care for the characters. But secret society seemed a good fit for this list. :-) Thanks for stopping by, Barb.

      Delete
  3. What a great idea! I wish I had thought of using a movie or tv show. My brain just was like, nope, not giving you anything, so I have no post today. :( That's ok though, because I still get to hop around and visit other great posts like yours! I haven't read most of the books on your list, other than Anna Dressed in Blood, and I definitely like the X-Files, so I think I'll be adding these books to my TBR. Thanks! And Happy Birthday!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was close to not doing a post either because I could not think of any book related topic. Thankfully I'd been marathoning a few eps of The X-Files so I just figured why not? I like checking other lists too, there's always great ideas and more books to add to the TBR! And thank you so much for the birthday wishes! :-D

      Delete
  4. White Cat's so good! I need to finish the series!

    Check out my TTT.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too! It's such an interesting world. Thanks for stopping by, Lauren.

      Delete
  5. Anna Dressed in Blood was really good.
    My ttt
    http://hauntedgravebooks.blogspot.com/2015/09/ten-books-to-read-if-you-liked-uprooted.html

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's one of my favourites! :-D Thanks, Renee.

      Delete
  6. Awesome idea for a list, love The X-Files and can honestly say I haven't read a single one of the books on your list so thanks for the heads up on some new reads for me!

    My TTT - Thea @ Gizzimomo's Book Shelf

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The X-Files is so good, right? It's been ages since I first watched it, and I really only saw eps here and there after the first couple of seasons. Figure I need to catch up ready for the new miniseries. :-D Thanks, Thea!

      Delete
  7. I haven't watched The X-Files but I have been wanting to read Anna Dressed in Blood for a while now! My TTT

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I recommend both! Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my faves, I hope you enjoy it. I'd say it's more like Supernatural than The X-Files too, but it worked for my list this week. ;-) Thanks, Brandi.

      Delete