Thursday, April 16, 2015

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy

Title: The Winter People
Author: Rebekah L. Purdy
Series: The Winter People, Book One
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Published Date: 2 September 2014
Buy: Amazon | The Book Depository | Dymocks Australia

An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn't forgotten their warning to "stay away." For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the "special gifts" that must be left at the back of the property.
 


Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she'll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.
(summary from Goodreads)


The Winter People suffers from stereotypical characters and a cliched, predictable plot. 

I wanted to love The Winter People for the cover alone. So pretty. And that summary above, especially the first sentence! Unfortunately from early on it was obvious this isn't the book for me. While The Winter People had the kind of premise that entices me, it never developed beyond the generic. Engrossing and complex this book is not. Everything is too easy and too predictable. Salome is frustrating. First she accepts the weird instructions of her Grandmother without question, then she just as easily ignores them. There's no thought involved. Salome is the epitome of the boring damsel in distress. Not to mention entirely oblivious. Add in three - three! - love interests and you've completely lost me. Especially considering Salome is drawn to each much too quickly. If you want a developing romance, The Winter People is not the book to choose. I was not invested in either Nevin, Colton or Gareth, and their relationships with Salome. Each are stereotypically mysterious, charming and good looking - that is, lacking any depth. I persevered with the story as I'm not the type to leave a book unfinished, and I had hoped that the lurking evil and ensuing fight for Salome's life would shake things up, but it's as disappointing as the rest of the book. Ah, the power of scorned love. Yeah...no. 

Overall The Winter People is a slow read with dull characters and action. I do at least like the cover though! 

Rating: 


2 comments:

  1. It’s so sad when you read a book that disappoints you… But man, that cover is pretty!!

    Thanks for your review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is! There's bound to be a few, but I always have such high hopes. :-( ;-) Thanks for stopping by.

      Delete