Thursday, April 30, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, Book One
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Published Date: 5 May 2015
Buy: Amazon | The Book Depository | Dymocks Australia

I received this book through NetGalley from Bloomsbury Publishing (UK & ANZ) for review.

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
(summary from Goodreads)


A Court of Thorns and Roses is everything - magical, thrilling, action-packed, romantic to the point of swooning...can I have the second book already? Please?

I will say straight out that after eagerly awaiting this book for months, then finally reading Throne of Glass recently and being less than impressed, I'd lowered my expectations of A Court of Thorns and Roses. I needn't have done so. This is exactly what I wanted, and I enjoyed every minute of it. Maas's novel sinks its claws into you and doesn't let go. The human and faerie realms are each fascinating, with a history I kept wanting to learn more of. The world building is superb. From the quiet isolation of the woods, to the desolation of the human world, to the strange opulence of the faerie realm, Maas's words paint the perfect picture to play on your imagination. Every moment of A Court of Thorns and Roses builds the tension until I found myself on the edge of my seat, desperate to know what will happen, and ready for it to happen right-NOW-oh-my-god-I-cannot-handle-the-suspense-any-longer!! Plus a little of "end this bitch already!"... just so you know. As a fairy tale retelling A Court of Thorns and Roses is spot on. It's easy to recognise the similarities to Beauty and the Beast, while there's also more than enough originality to make the story separate and unique. Not all retellings are winners, but Maas's is. Give this lady a blue ribbon! 

Feyre is a well-written and relatable MC. She does nothing for herself, and this altruism is endearing. Especially in light of her sisters' attitudes. I like her sheer determination - at times it borders on pigheadedness, but for the most part it keeps Feyre strong. There's a softness to Feyre that awes me, and that is often mistaken for weakness, more fool them. From page one you're rooting for Feyre. Tamlin, in much the same way, is impacting. His beast form is terrifying, but his clumsy wooing instantly charms. His loyalty, his loneliness, and his neck biting had me quickly swooning. Yes, neck biting. There needs to be more of this in the books I read. Feyre and Tamlin's relationship builds exquisitely. As the tension mounts throughout the novel, so too do the sparks fly between these two. Plus there's a level of cute to their missteps. Communication - it's a thing they need to learn. Their romance is both lustful and meaningful, and I'll do anything for more. The same can be said for the other characters of A Court of Thorns and Roses. The wanting more, I mean. Oh, okay, and maybe some of the lusting. Mostly in the case of Lucien. I love a handsome man who is cocky but soft as marshmallow on the inside. Lucien's quick wit always had me grinning, and his backstory is heartrending. Alis is lovely and supportive, and again, has a touching backstory. There's such history to this story and it's characters that has you yearning for more. Rhysand is charming and dangerous, and I can't decide if I want more or less of him! I do know I'm intrigued by both him and the Night Court, so I'm anticipating the next novel in the series. But also dreading it, just a little, because I'm not willing to endure a love triangle. So please, please, let there be no messing with Feyre and Tamlin. I love where they are and I want to see it develop further. Sure, bring on the complications, but make them more substantial than a love triangle. Am I right?

A Court of Thorns and Roses is definitely a recommended read. If you like fantasy, fairy tale retellings, action, romance, magic, this is the book you shouldn't miss. Snatch it up and devour it! 

Rating:

0 comments:

Post a Comment